Delery, Lundy Honored by ACPA for Lifetime Achievement

The American Concrete Pipe Association (ACPA) presented its two most prestigious individual honors during a ceremony at its 104th Annual Convention in New Orleans.

Oliver Delery, Jr., P.E. received the Richard E. Barnes Award for Lifetime Achievement.  The award is named after Richard Barnes, the former long-time President of the ACPA. It is the highest recognition of support and service to the concrete pipe industry presented to an individual for lifetime achievement.

Joe Lundy, P.E., of Hanson Pipe & Precast, received the Frank J. Heger Memorial Award. The Heger Award is the industry’s top recognition for lifetime contributions to the engineering and technical aspects of concrete pipe.  It is presented for distinguished service and dedication to ASTM Committee C-13 on concrete pipe.

Delery, currently regional sales manager/engineer with Hanson Pipe & Precast in Louisiana, began his career in 1977 as a design engineer with Burk & Associates (now Burk-Kleinpeter).  He then worked for more than 20 years at his family-owned New Orleans Cement Products Co., including six years as its President.  In 1999, he joined Choctaw, Inc., which was acquired by Hanson in 2002. Oliver has served in many offices as a volunteer for the concrete pipe and box culvert’s leading trade association, including as its youngest Chairman of the Board (1989-1990).

“This recognition from the ACPA is certainly a highlight of my career,” said Delery, after ACPA President Matt Childs presented him with a distinctive plaque.  “It has been my privilege to work for more than 35 years in this wonderful industry of ours, and I hope you won’t mind if I continue to contribute in spite of this lifetime achievement award!”

Delery has received several other notable honors throughout his lifetime, beginning with a trio of recognitions as the Outstanding Civil Engineering Graduate, Outstanding Engineering School Graduate and the Stibbs Award as the Outstanding University Graduate of Tulane University in 1977.  He was awarded the Robert R. Litehiser Award for his work on ASTM Committee C-13 on Concrete Pipe in 2000.

A life-long native of New Orleans, Delery has held leadership positions in several prominent Louisiana organizations.  He served as President of the 1996-97 Sugar Bowl; as a member of the New Orleans Mayor’s Mardi Gras Advisory Committee, and as a volunteer leader with several other non-profit groups.

“Oliver’s contributions to the North American concrete pipe industry are many, and each of us benefits from his work every day, whether we realize it or not,” said Childs during his award presentation.  “His work as ACPA Chairman and as a member and leader of several important committees for ASTM and AASHTO has made our industry safer, more productive and more competitive than ever.”

Lundy has served the precast concrete pipe industry as an engineer beginning in the late 1970s with Gifford-Hill Concrete Pipe, which was later acquired by Hanson.  Lundy is currently Technical Committee Chairman of the ACPA and an Adjunct Research Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Texas at Arlington.

“I am very grateful for this receiving this incredible honor for doing what I love to do,” said Lundy at his award presentation.  “I am a strong believer in the technical superiority of concrete pipe, and I’ve enjoyed my association with the ACPA, ASTM and all the other organizations that work so hard to move the industry forward.”

Lundy received the 2008 Merlin G. Spangler Award in recognition of “distinguished and outstanding technical contributions, which advance the excellence of precast concrete pipe standards, design and performance.”  In 2009, he was inducted as an Honor member into Chi Epsilon, the civil engineering honor society.  Lundy has published technical articles on shear strength and structural performance in concrete beams, and he is active with several engineering organizations.

“Joe is one of the sharpest technical minds in our industry,” said Josh Beakley, ACPA’s Director of Technical Services. “He has served in many volunteer roles, but his contributions as a leader of ACPA’s Technical Committee and ASTM Subcommittee C-13.07 on Precast Box Culverts have been truly exceptional.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.